SSNUP
Increasing the resilience of smallholder farmers and agricultural value chains
Body

SSNUP aims at increasing the productivity and resilience of smallholder farmers in Africa, Latin America and Asia thanks to improved risk management and the promotion of sustainable, climate-smart farming practices. As a result, this programme will not only improve the food security and living standards of up to 10 million smallholder farmers’ households, but it will also contribute to the development of sustainable agricultural value chains.   

The ten-year programme leverages the knowledge and expertise of multiple technical assistance facilities of impact investment funds to reach as many smallholder farmers with as little bureaucracy as possible. While SSNUP is supported by the governments of Luxembourg, Switzerland and Liechtenstein, ADA coordinates the programme and ensures knowledge sharing and the dissemination of best practices amongst the participating investors and their partners for the benefit of the agricultural sector as a whole.

Objectives
Objectives
Increase the resilience of smallholder farmers thanks to technical assistance and investments
Regions
Regions
Sub-Saharan Africa (priority), Asia and Latin America
Budget
Budget
55 million euros over 10 years, including 18 million euros in phase 1 (2020-2023)
Programme benefits
Body

SSNUP will result in greater resilience of smallholder farmers, stronger agricultural value chains and increased investments in the agricultural sectors of developing countries. The programme will bring many benefits which will not only have a positive impact on smallholder farmers but also on their households and communities:

  1. Enhanced productivity and hence more income for up to 10 million smallholder farmers thanks to more efficient production methods, an increased use of technology and easier access to financing and market information. 
  2. Greater resilience of smallholder farmers and their households (up to 50 million people) thanks to improved agricultural risk management and/or insurance products which will make them less vulnerable to external shocks, such as extreme weather and price volatility.   
  3. Environmental protection thanks to sustainable and climate-smart farming practices.
  4. Strengthened agricultural value chains due to facilitated business transactions between smallholder farmers and other stakeholders in the value chain.
  5. Additional investments in agricultural value chains from international impact investors which generate further growth thanks to compliance with global responsible agricultural investment principles and the adoption of sustainable environmental, social, and good governance standards.
  6. Increased overall food security in line with the United Nation’s sustainable development goals.
  7. Best practices and knowledge transfers gathered and disseminated amongst all SSNUP partners by ADA, thereby unlocking further efficiencies. By trickling down to other value chain actors, this knowledge will ultimately benefit the agricultural sector as a whole.
How it works
Body

SSNUP is scheduled to run for ten years with an overall target budget of EUR 55 million. It will co-finance technical assistance projects that strengthen the resilience of smallholder farmers and value chain actors such as SMEs, agricultural cooperatives, MFIs and other agricultural financial intermediaries in Africa, Latin America and Asia. These projects can range from developing index insurance services to promoting climate-smart and agro-ecological farming practices. 

The programme targets agricultural value chains in which technical assistance facilities and their impact investors are already active or intend to be. As the targeted beneficiaries are already in the portfolio of impact investors or among their prospects, SSNUP can direct further funding much more efficiently, without the need for additional due diligence. This will not only facilitate the flow of SSNUP funding towards technical assistance projects, it will also make investments more efficient and less risky as investors can rely on the expertise and due diligence of highly experienced impact investors such as the Grameen Crédit Agricole Foundation, Incofin, Oikocredit, responsAbility, Symbiotics, Alterfin, and SIDI. 

These partner funds manage between EUR 92 million and EUR 3.5 billion in assets, actively invest in agricultural value chains and work with technical assistance and capacity-building facilities to support their investees. In addition to leveraging these existing partnerships, the SSNUP programme will encourage participating investors to consider new countries or regions, thereby growing their portfolio and extending their outreach. Further investors will be invited to join the programme as the individual SSNUP projects are being rolled out.  

The first phase of the SSNUP programme runs from 2020 to 2023 with a target budget of EUR 18 million. 84% of this funding, so around 15 million, will be directly provided by SSNUP while the remaining budget will be covered by the agricultural value chain actors. We are currently seeking additional donors to complete the targeted SSNUP contribution, EUR 2.2 million are outstanding. 

As the programme coordinator, ADA will collect and disseminate data, best practices, promising innovations and will measure the outcomes and impact of the different projects.

Governance – who does what?
Body
  • Funders (donors): SSNUP is funded by the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), the Liechtenstein Development Service (LED), Luxembourg’s Directorate for Development Cooperation and Humanitarian Affairs, in partnership with Lux-Development. We are seeking additional donors to reach the SSNUP funding target. 
  • Impact investors and their technical assistance facilities: AgDevCo, Alterfin, Grameen Crédit Agricole Foundation, Incofin, Oikocredit, responsAbility, SIDI and Symbiotics have joined SSNUP to improve the technical assistance component of their active investments in rural areas. They support investees such as microfinance institutions, SMEs and agricultural cooperatives and boost agricultural value chains.
  • Programme coordinator: ADA ensures the collaboration between all stakeholders and oversees the implementation of the programme.
  • Knowledge management and dissemination partners: the International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD), the Council on Smallholder Agricultural Finance (CSAF) and/or the Microinsurance Network will help gather and disseminate information and lessons learned from the projects. 
SSNUP stakeholders and benefits at a glance
Body

Schéma SSNUP

 

Subscribe to the SSNUP newsletter
Ajout barre latérale ?
No

SSNUP
Accroître la résilience des petits exploitants agricoles et des chaînes de valeur agricoles
Body

L’objectif du programme SSNUP (Smallholder Safety Net Upscaling) est d’accroître la productivité et la résilience des petits exploitants agricoles en Asie, en Afrique et en Amérique latine grâce à une meilleure gestion des risques et à la promotion de pratiques agricoles durables et intelligentes face au climat. En plus d’améliorer la sécurité alimentaire et le niveau de vie d'une dizaine de millions de ménages de petits exploitants agricoles, ce programme contribuera aussi au développement des chaînes de valeur agricoles durables. 

Étalé sur dix ans, le programme s'appuie sur les connaissances et l'expertise de multiples dispositifs d'assistance technique de fonds d'investissement à impact en vue d’atteindre le plus grand nombre de petits exploitants agricoles avec le moins de bureaucratie possible. Soutenu par les gouvernements du Luxembourg, de la Suisse et du Liechtenstein, SSNUP est un programme coordonné par ADA, qui assure également le partage des connaissances et la diffusion des meilleures pratiques entre les investisseurs et leurs partenaires, au bénéfice de l’ensemble du secteur agricole. 

aa
Objectifs
Accroître la résilience des petits exploitants agricoles grâce à l’apport d’assistance technique et d’investissement
Zones d'intervention
Régions
Afrique subsaharienne (priorité), Asie et Amérique latine
Budget
Budget
55 millions d’euros sur 10 ans, dont 18 millions d’euros pour la première phase du programme de 2020 à 2023
Bénéfices du programme
Body

SSNUP va permettre d'accroître la résilience des petits exploitants agricoles, de renforcer les chaînes de valeur agricoles et d'augmenter les investissements dans les secteurs agricoles des pays en développement. Le programme va apporter de nombreux bénéfices qui auront un impact positif non seulement sur les petits exploitants agricoles, mais aussi sur leurs ménages et leurs communautés :

  1. Une amélioration de la productivité et donc des revenus pour 10 millions de petits exploitants agricoles, grâce à des méthodes de production plus efficaces, à une utilisation accrue des technologies et un accès plus facile aux financements et aux informations du marché.
  2. Une plus grande résilience des petits exploitants agricoles et de leurs ménages (jusqu’à 50 millions de personnes) grâce à une meilleure gestion des risques agricoles et/ou à des produits d’assurance qui les rendront moins vulnérables à des chocs extérieurs tels que les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes et la volatilité des prix.
  3. La protection de l’environnement grâce à des pratiques agricoles durables et intelligentes face au climat.  
  4. Des chaînes de valeur agricoles renforcées grâce à la facilitation des transactions commerciales entre les petits exploitants agricoles et les autres parties prenantes des chaînes de valeur agricoles.
  5. Des investisseurs d’impact internationaux qui investissent davantage dans les chaînes de valeur agricoles, ce qui va générer une croissance supplémentaire grâce au respect des principes mondiaux d'investissement agricole responsable et à l'adoption de normes durables dans le domaine environnemental, social et de bonne gouvernance.
  6. Une sécurité alimentaire accrue pour tout le monde, conformément aux objectifs de développement durable des Nations unies.  
  7. Le recueil et la diffusion par ADA des bonnes pratiques et des transferts de connaissances entre tous les partenaires du programme SSNUP, ce qui permet de réaliser des gains d'efficacité supplémentaires. En étant répercutées auprès des autres acteurs des chaînes de valeur agricoles, ces connaissances profiteront finalement au secteur agricole dans son ensemble. 
Fonctionnement du programme
Body

Le programme SSNUP est prévu pour une durée de dix ans, avec une enveloppe globale ciblée à 55 millions d'euros. Il cofinancera des projets d'assistance technique qui renforceront la résilience des petits exploitants et autres acteurs des chaînes de valeur agricoles tels que les PME, les coopératives agricoles, les IMF et d’autres intermédiaires financiers agricoles en Asie, en Afrique et en Amérique latine. Ces projets peuvent aller du développement de services d'assurance indicielle à la promotion de pratiques agroécologiques et intelligentes face au climat.

Le programme cible les chaînes de valeur agricoles dans lesquelles les structures d'assistance technique et leurs investisseurs d'impact sont déjà actifs ou entendent le devenir. Vu que les bénéficiaires ciblés figurent déjà dans le portefeuille des investisseurs d'impact ou parmi leurs prospects, le programme SSNUP peut orienter les financements supplémentaires de manière beaucoup plus efficace, sans avoir besoin d'une due diligence supplémentaire. Cela facilitera non seulement l’acheminement des financements du SSNUP vers les projets d'assistance technique, mais rendra également les investissements plus efficaces et moins risqués, car les investisseurs pourront compter sur l'expertise et la due diligence d'investisseurs d'impact très expérimentés tels que la Alterfin, Fondation Grameen Crédit Agricole, Incofin, Oikocredit, responsAbility, SIDI et Symbiotics.

Ces fonds partenaires gèrent entre 3,5 milliards d'euros et 92 millions d'actifs, investissent activement dans les chaînes de valeur agricoles et se servent de dispositifs d'assistance technique et de renforcement des capacités pour soutenir leurs bénéficiaires. En plus de tirer parti de ces partenariats existants, le programme SSNUP va encourager les investisseurs partenaires à envisager de nouveaux pays ou de nouvelles régions, ce qui leur permettra d'élargir leur portefeuille et leur périmètre. D'autres investisseurs seront invités à se joindre au programme au fur et à mesure du déploiement des différents projets du SSNUP.  

La première phase du programme SSNUP couvre la période 2020-2023, pour un budget cible de 18 millions d'euros. 84% de ce financement, soit environ 15 millions, seront directement fournis par le programme SSNUP, le budget restant sera pris en charge par les acteurs des chaînes de valeur agricoles. Nous sommes actuellement à la recherche de donateurs supplémentaires pour compléter l’enveloppe du programme SSNUP visée, dont 2,2 millions d'euros sont encore à lever.

En tant que coordinateur du programme, ADA recueillera et diffusera les données, les bonnes pratiques, les innovations prometteuses et mesurera les résultats et l'impact des différents projets. 

Gouvernance – qui fait quoi ?
Body
  • Bailleurs de fonds (donateurs) : le programme SSNUP est financé par la Direction suisse du développement et de la coopération (DDC), le Liechtenstein Development Service (LED), la Direction luxembourgeoise de la coopération au développement et de l’action humanitaire, en partenariat avec Lux-Development. Le programme est à la recherche de donateurs supplémentaires pour atteindre l’objectif de financement du SSNUP.
  • Investisseurs d’impact et leurs dispositifs d’assistance technique : Alterfin, Fondation Grameen Crédit Agricole, Incofin, Oikocredit, responsAbility, la SIDI et Symbiotics ont rejoint le programme SSNUP afin d’améliorer le volet assistance technique de leurs investissements en cours dans les zones rurales. Ils investissent auprès de bénéficiaires tels que des institutions de microfinance, des PME et des coopératives agricoles, et stimulent les chaînes de valeur agricoles.
  • Coordinateur du programme : ADA veille à la collaboration entre toutes les parties prenantes et supervise la mise en œuvre du programme.
  • Partenaires de la gestion et de la diffusion des connaissances : International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD), Council on Smallholder Agricultural Finance (CSAF) et le Microinsurance Network contribueront au recueil et à l’essaimage des informations et des leçons tirées des projets. 
Parties prenantes et bénéfices du programme SSNUP
Body

Schéma SSNUP

 

Inscription à la newsletter SSNUP
Ajout barre latérale ?
No